Is decorating a classroom overrated?

Do you spend a lot of time browsing the net looking for inspiration to decorate your classroom yet often leave feeling overwhelmed or inadequate? Why even consider decorating a classroom anyway?

Sometimes our classroom is the only place (aside from our homes) where we have some creative licence. We spend hours in the classroom and many of us like to put our own stamp since it is somewhat of a haven and second home. I for one like to make my room a space where I can be comfortable for many hours, it must be inviting but not not overwhelming. I want my room to be a place that I love coming to and of which the children can feel a sense of pride and ownership. This is the key to choosing your theme or colour scheme if you are inclined to decorate.

If your classroom is not very large (as most of those in our primary schools) or if you do not have an actual room, your space must first of all serve a purpose. Think about what your purpose is in decorating your space -is it to look fancy or to display anchor charts and student work? If the space is relatively ‘sizeable’ can you find a balance between both? When choosing what to include, consider if it is something that will help in student learning; over time if they are not using it, then it is just decoration and may be unneccesary.

If you are not one for the frills and fancy of classroom decorating don’t allow yourself to feel pressured by what others even in your own school may be doing. It is quite ok to admire from a distance but not be caught up in what others may consider a trend.

I love doing themes -particularly because I am a creative person- and I would usually dedicate part of my summer vacation towards brainstorming and developing a theme for the year. I have found that it make sense for me to do a yearly theme and make seasonal boards as the event arises during the term. Popular themes include but are not limited to: 

Cartoons- Dora, Mickey Mouse, Cars, Under the Sea, Monsters Inc.SpongeBob 

Books- Dr Seuss, Harry Potter

Nature- flowers, fish, animals, trees, ocean, jungle, camping

Vehicles- cars, trains, buses, planes

Superheroes- Spiderman, Batman, Superman…

Travel, circus… the list is ENDLESS!

You may visit some of my favourite sites here for inspiration:

www.pinterest.com

clutterfreeclassroom

clever ways to decorate your classroom

Last school year I decided to go with a pencil theme, with stripes and dots as accents, as I was focusing on Creative Writing. Unfortunately I have no pictures to show except for the curtains which I hung for the first time and which are featured in the photo above, but I will surely include pictures of this year’s room. Find what works for you and helps you be at your best. Be careful not to spend too much time, money and energy as one can easily run the risk of going overboard. It is easy to get caught up in making everything so fancy that one can forget the REAL focus which is teaching and learning. We much strive to ensure that there is not sensory overload. 

There has been much debate lately about whether or not classroom decor is distracting to pupils. Do you think that parents notice the rooms that their children spend their days in? Do children even notice or appreciate the work that was put into the room? Over time I have had both parents and pupils compliment me on my room albeit a small one. It reflects my personality.However, the decor of a classroom does not overtly indicate the quality of the teacher or teaching but it does make an impression on others.

Therefore once you decide to go the way of decorating, the space must not be too distracting, whether you choose bold and vibrant colours ( fuschia pink, yellow orange,etc) or calming colours (blues, light green,cool neutrals). I’m thinking of a ‘Caribbean’ theme this year (steelpan, coconut trees,beach, tropical prints, tied and died fabrics, batik- the possibilities are ENDLESS!) My pupils are in the 10-12 age bracket and I am simply feeling like something vibrant for their final year of Primary School. 

 The ultimate aim though is for creating a positive class climate and culture in the room but it won’t hurt if the way how the classroom is decorated or organised contibutes to these positive feelings.That said, feel free to share your opinions below be they for or against decorating your classroom. 

Roxy.

2 thoughts on “Is decorating a classroom overrated?

  1. I think decorating a classroom is a brilliant idea. It is beneficial both for the students and the teacher. While some may argue that they’re not the decorative type, the classroom should still be well organized and appear inviting. I try to make my classroom a place of beauty for me first. The ambience of the class can affect one’s mood and affect how we perform our duties. Sometimes cares of life may tend to burden you down but a well decorated classroom can help lift your spirits.

    A well decorated classroom should also stimulate learning in the students. It must be done with the students in mind. Balance is key. While some designs may appeal to us as teachers, we must also ask ourselves if it would have the same effect on the students.

    Sometimes teachers become demotivated and it reflects in their efforts to decorate their classrooms. In such an event, I think they should still try to put their signature on their classroom, even if it may seem very basic. Simple and tasteful is always preferred to extravagant and over done. This advice from the blog should always be heeded, “Be careful not to spend too much time, money and energy as one can easily run the risk of going overboard.”

    Like

    • At the end of the day students do deserve a clean and organized space even if you are not one for decorating. Like you, I too try to make it a place of beauty for me first and the class is usually appreciative! I think it motivates them as well!

      Like

Leave a comment